Earning the IB Diploma

Earning the IB Diploma


Performance in each subject is graded on a scale of 7 points (maximum) down to 1 point (minimum).  The maximum total number of points a student can earn for his/her coursework is 42.  Performance in theory of knowledge and the extended essay are each graded on a scale of A (maximum) to E (minimum).  The CAS requirement is not assessed.

For the IB Diploma, a maximum of 3 points is awarded for combined performance in theory of knowledge and the extended essay.  The maximum total DP points score is 45.  A student needs only 24 points to earn the IB Diploma.

The Diploma Points Matrix

EE TOK Matrix

Award of the IB Diploma

All assessment components for each of the six subjects and the additional Diploma requirements must be completed in order to qualify for the award of the IB Diploma.

The IB Diploma will be awarded to a candidate provided all the following requirements have been met.

  • CAS requirements have been met.
  • The candidate’s total points are 24 or more.
  • There is no “N” awarded for theory of knowledge, the extended essay or for a contributing subject.
  • There is no grade E awarded for theory of knowledge and/or the extended essay.
  • There is no grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
  • There are no more than two grade 2s awarded (HL or SL).
  • There are no more than three graded 3s or below awarded (HL or SL).
  • The candidate has gained 12 points or more o HL subjects) for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest graded count).
  • The candidate has gained 9 point or more on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).
  • The candidate has not received a penalty of academic misconduct from the Final Award Committee.

A maximum of three examination sessions is allowed in which to satisfy the requirements for the award of the IB Diploma.  The examination sessions need not be consecutive.